Concepts and design competitions provide our studio with a rich library of research, ideas and solutions. Since its creation in 1997, the studio has produced designs that today have enabled us to build up a R&D laboratory. Architecture competitions always accelerate creativity: they demand that we come up with a clear, efficient way of meeting complex brief requirements in a minimum amount of time. Concept projects, on the other hand, allow us greater freedom and opportunity to explore.

TOULOUSE HOTEL COMPLEX | France

AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-Vue_Aerial_A_hdv4
AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-Vue_PEX_A_hdv4
AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-Vue_Aerial_B_hdv4
AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-Vue_Patio_hdv2C
AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-COUPE_update

The programme consisted of regrouping the various functions supporting the Toulouse Exhibition and Convention Centre together into a single centre. The choice of a prefabricated wooden building for this project offered flexibility to evolve this hospitality destination in the future.

REINVENTING THE CITY / CLICHY SOUS BOIS | France

AW2-Reinventer-La-Metropole-Clichy-Sous-Bois-France--C-v01
AW2-Reinventer-La-Metropole-Clichy-Sous-Bois-France-COUPEBB_250e
AW2-Reinventer-La-Metropole-Clichy-Sous-Bois-France-COUPEAA_250e

with EMBT and SOA Architects

The location for the Clichy-Leclaire project prompted an essentially landscaped concept: sculptural buildings of moulded, stained concrete emerge from the hillside to form a pattern of horizontal lines. The stratified effect echoes the mineral quality of the site, once used as a quarry.

LYCEE FRANCAIS / MOSCOW | Russia

AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Moscou-Russie-Tamas-niveau-pieton03
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Moscou-Russie-Tamas-Aerial

The Lycée Français project was to be integrated into an already developed site, and so required an architectural design that dialogues with the existing buildings whilst adapting to the specific educational programme required for the high school. We developed a contemporary architectural design made of concrete and glass sheathed in perforated Corten steel mesh that filters the natural light and finds resonance with the neighbouring brick façades.

W MARRAKECH | Morocco

AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-5
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-6
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-4
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-2
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-1
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-VIEW-HOTEL-1
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-VIEW-CLUSTER-3
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-VIEW-CLUSTER-1

The W project is a stylistic exercise, an architectural variation on the motifs and graphic symbols found in Islamic art in general and in Marrakesh in particular. Here, the myriad forms become architecture, turning into pergolas, shade canopies and shutters that subtly blend into the landscape.

REINVENTING THE CITY / PERSHING SITE | France

AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-pershing_vue02
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-pershing_vue01
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-LOBBY
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-RESTAURANT
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-JUNIOR-SUITE
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-STANDARD-01

with Atelier 234

The Pershing hotel project was to integrate a site incorporating the Parisian ring-road crossing structure. The brief called for a complete range of public spaces: lobby bar, restaurant, events venue, sports centre, and spa as well as a swimming pool and bar on the top floor.

LYCEE FRANCAIS / ABU DHABI | United Arab Emirates

AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-VIEW-02
AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-VIEW-03
AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-VIEW-01
AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-COUPE-02-200
AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-COUPE-01-200

The design for the Lycée Français in Abu Dhabi develops the concept of bioclimatic wall architecture. The architecture reflects a world of culture and calm, with gardens and vegetation providing refreshing coolness, protected from the sun’s rays by metal latticework and awnings.

LYCEE FRANCAIS / SOUSSE | TUNISIA

AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-TUNIS_vue01_01
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-TUNIS_vue04_01
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-TUNIS_vue02_01
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-VIEW-7
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-VIEW-10

with KB Architecture

Bioclimatic design guided the site implantation of this project, taking into account optimal orientation and prevailing winds. The architectural design evokes constructions traditionally found in countries with hot, dry climates: its brick patios, walls, passageways, and canopies create shaded areas and help to ventilate the building.

EDEN RESORT / Reunion Island | France

AW2-Eden-Resort-Ile-de-la-Reunion-France-Cluster-04-2014-09-26
AW2-Eden-Resort-Ile-de-la-Reunion-France-CLUSTER-10
AW2-Eden-Resort-Ile-de-la-Reunion-France-PVP1
AW2-Eden-Resort-Ile-de-la-Reunion-France-General-V01-2014-09-6

with Nicolas Grouard architect

Guided by an in-depth understanding of the context, the design process was shaped by the decision to emphasise discovery and emotion. In the spirit of Six Senses Con Dao, the project stands out for its adherence to site topography, its economical use of land, and its showcasing of views overlooking the sea.

CHEDI MALDIVES | Maldives

AW2-Chedi-Maldives-Dhaparoo-14-Water-Bungalow
AW2-Chedi-Maldives-Dhaparoo-2-Four-Bed-Villa-front
AW2-Chedi-Maldives-Dhaparoo-4-One-Bed-Villa-bathroom
AW2-Chedi-Maldives-Dhaparoo-5-One-Bed-Villa-bathroom

Dhaparu is a remote island in the northern Maldives in the Haa Alifu Atoll. In collaboration with GHM Hotels & Resorts, we were given the opportunity to create a manifesto for the art of living in the Maldives, between land and ocean, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation.

CHEVAL BLANC AL KHAIRAN | Sultanate of Oman

AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-View-01
AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-View-15
AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-view-16
AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-view-18
AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-Hill-Standard-SHS-02

This project responds to the arid, hilly environment by inserting a contemporary architectural language: pure white volumes seated on stone walls, views framed by porticos, the use of water and luxuriant vegetation, and the play of light shaped by the masharabiyas.

RESIDENTIAL PROJECT / OURCQ JAURES | France

AW2-Logements-Ourcq-Jaures-Paris-France-Perspective
AW2-Logements-Ourcq-Jaures-Paris-France-Pers-facade-detail-1
AW2-Logements-Ourcq-Jaures-Paris-France-Pers-facade-detail-2

The guiding principles of the project include: creating a strong relationship with the surrounding urban environment and neighbouring façades; introducing shared gardens; increasing sunlight exposure by removing separating limits; and finally, ensuring environmental performance, particularly through the extensive use of bio-sourced materials.

SIFAH RESORT | Sultanate of Oman

AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-CENTRAL-AREA
AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-JEBEL-SUITEgarden
AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-GALLERY-FINAL
AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-axo
AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-Central-area-elevation

Our aim was to combine the essence of Arab architecture with the renowned art of hospitality of Cheval Blanc. The subtle play of volumes echoes the architecture of Oman’s traditional villages. We incorporated local architectural techniques such as wind towers and the use of masharabiyas to create naturally ventilated spaces.

ILOT SAUSSURE | France

AW2-Ilot-Saussure-Paris-France-Vue-01-Train-V03
AW2-Ilot-Saussure-Paris-France-Vue-02-Vitre
AW2-Ilot-Saussure-Paris-France-Axo-Eclatee

The façades of Ilot Saussure mark the architectural identity of this office building in the west of Paris.They unfold in a smooth, stream-lined fashion taking on different forms depending on the orientation. Our concept addresses the site constraints imposed by the adjacent railway tracks whilst retaining fluid volume lines.

CHEDI TAMUDA BAY | Morocco

AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-RECEPTION
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-CLUBnight
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-CLUBSUITEnight
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-HOTELsuite
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-CLUBsuite
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-RECEPTION-VUE

This project is located near Tangiers, facing the Mediterranean. Strongly influenced by the site itself, we created a contemporary architectural language that incorporates the expertise of local craftsmen. Water is omnipresent: together the sea, the river, and the landscaped pools create a unique environment.

THE PROPHET MUSEUM | United Arab Emirates

AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-AXONOMETRIE
AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-facade
AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-lobby
AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-jardin
AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-exhibition

The Prophet Museum is a metaphor for an inner world, a garden where nature thrives, a journey through the foundations of Islam. The horizontal line of the roof speaks of serenity and peace, in a context dominated by the verticality of high rises.

NOMAD / TAFILALET | Morocco

AW2-Nomad-Tafilalet-Maroc-01-2014-01-10
AW2-Nomad-Tafilalet-Maroc-03-2014-01-10
AW2-Nomad-Tafilalet-Maroc-02-2014-01-10

We were asked to design an eye and skin clinic in Tafilalet, Morocco. Rather than propose a ‘traditional’ clinic, we chose to create an architectural object: Nomad. The design is both simple and practical, forming roots to its location when set up and then disappearing without a trace when it is no longer required.

MUSEE ARTS PREMIERS / PARIS | France

AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-FAERDIG
AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-branly2
AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-eiffel
AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-branly-1
AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-branly-1

with SHL Architects

The design for the Musée des Arts Premiers was to bring together Paris’ various ethnology collections in one museum. The site is located between the Quai Branly express road and the rue de l’Université. In response to this duality, we chose to break down the brief into a series of identical cubes that create a rich, urban grid interspersed with gardens.

JOHN STREET DEVELOPMENT | USA

AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-VIEW-02
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-VIEW-01
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-Closup-03
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-Closup-02
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-VIEW-03
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-Closup-01
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-VIEW-04

with RAL Companies

This project developed with RAL Companies is part of the Brooklyn quay rehabilitation programme. The buidling engages with its context through a dual façade: on the ‘New York’ side, a glass composition that plays with the water reflections in the East River; on the ‘Brooklyn’ side, the choice of an urban design using aluminium cladding.

Photography credit: Artefactory, AW², L’Autre Image, Play-Time, Tamas Fisher

ALL PROJECTS

See also

FOLLOW US ON INSTAGRAM

La production continue de concours et de concepts, depuis la création de l’agence, constitue une bibliothèque d’idées et de solutions. C’est aussi un véritable laboratoire de recherche et développement. Les concours sont toujours une accélération dans la mesure où ils demandent la résolution de programmes complexes en un minimum de temps, avec clarté et efficacité. Les projets concepts, eux, s’autorisent davantage de liberté et d’exploration. C’est l’alternance des deux exercices, qui se nourrissent l’un l’autre, qui font avancer l’agence. C’est aussi cet ‘entraînement’ qui nous permet de répondre à tout moment à n’importe quel type de programme ou de sollicitation. L’autre vertu des concours et des concepts, c’est de nous mettre au défi, de nous exposer à nouveau pour aller plus loin ; pour résister au confort des solutions acquises et échapper à la routine.

POLE HÔTELIER PEX TOULOUSE | France

AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-Vue_Aerial_A_hdv4
AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-Vue_PEX_A_hdv4
AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-Vue_Aerial_B_hdv4
AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-Vue_Patio_hdv2C
AW2-Pole-Hotelier-Toulouse-France-COUPE_update

Le programme proposé répond à une volonté de regrouper en un pôle unique des fonctions diverses, support du programme du Parc des Expositions et du Centre de Convention de Toulouse. Pour ce projet, le recours à une construction industrialisée en bois préfabriqué ouvre des pistes intéressantes pour l’avenir de l’hôtellerie.

RÉINVENTER LA MÉTROPOLE / CLICHY SOUS BOIS | France

AW2-Reinventer-La-Metropole-Clichy-Sous-Bois-France--C-v01
AW2-Reinventer-La-Metropole-Clichy-Sous-Bois-France-COUPEBB_250e
AW2-Reinventer-La-Metropole-Clichy-Sous-Bois-France-COUPEAA_250e

avec EMBT et SOA architectes.

L’implantation et le dessin des terres agricoles du projet Clichy-Leclaire ont produit un concept essentiellement paysager : des bâtiments sculpturaux en béton matricé lasuré, dans un motif de lignes horizontales, posés sur un socle filant émergeant de la pente. Cet effet de strates exprime la minéralité du site des Carrières.

LYCÉE Français de MOSCOU | Russie

AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Moscou-Russie-Tamas-niveau-pieton03
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Moscou-Russie-Tamas-Aerial

Le projet est un travail d’insertion dans un site bâti, mais également l’expression d’une architecture contemporaine pour l’enseignement d’aujourd’hui. Le bâtiment neuf est un volume en béton et verre enveloppé d’une maille en acier ‘Corten’ perforée, qui filtre la lumière naturelle et s’adapte par mimétisme aux façades de brique existantes.

W MARRAKECH | Maroc

AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-5
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-6
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-4
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-2
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-View-1
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-VIEW-HOTEL-1
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-VIEW-CLUSTER-3
AW2-W-Marrakech-Maroc-VIEW-CLUSTER-1

Le projet W est un exercice de style, une variation architecturale sur les motifs et les symboles graphiques des arts de l’Islam en général, et de Marrakech en particulier. Cette profusion graphique devient architecture en se transformant en pergolas, en ombrières, en volets, architecture qui se mêle subtilement au paysage.

RÉINVENTER LA VILLE / SITE PERSHING | France

AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-pershing_vue02
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-pershing_vue01
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-LOBBY
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-RESTAURANT
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-JUNIOR-SUITE
AW2-Reinventer-La-Ville-Site-Pershing-Paris-France-STANDARD-01

avec Atelier 234.

Le projet Pershing doit composer avec la structure de franchissement du boulevard périphérique, réalisée par des poutres treillis de grandes dimensions. L’hôtel présente une programmation complète en matière d’espace public : lobby bar, restaurant, espace évènementiel mutualisé, salle de sport, spa… sans oublier la piscine et le bar en attique.

LYCÉE Français ABOU DABI | Emirats Arabes Unis

AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-VIEW-02
AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-VIEW-03
AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-VIEW-01
AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-COUPE-02-200
AW2-Lycee-Abou-Dabi-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-COUPE-01-200

Ce projet est une évolution de l’architecture « de murs » bioclimatique. Dans le contexte de germination spontanée dans le désert qu’est Abu Dabi, l’école incarne un monde de culture et de calme, de jardins et de fraicheur, protégée des rayons du soleil par une résille métallique et des auvents.

LYCÉE Français DE SOUSSE | Tunisie

AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-TUNIS_vue01_01
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-TUNIS_vue04_01
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-TUNIS_vue02_01
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-VIEW-7
AW2-Lycee-Francais-de-Sousse-Tunisie-VIEW-10

avec Atelier KB architecte.

La conception bioclimatique a guidé l’implantation du projet, en tenant compte de l’exposition optimale et des vents dominants. L’architecture, au dessin très simple, évoque les constructions traditionnelles des pays chauds et secs : patios, murs, coursives et brise-soleil en brique génèrent des espaces ombragés tout en favorisant les mouvements d’air

EDEN RESORT / Ile de la Réunion | France

AW2-Eden-Resort-Ile-de-la-Reunion-France-Cluster-04-2014-09-26
AW2-Eden-Resort-Ile-de-la-Reunion-France-CLUSTER-10
AW2-Eden-Resort-Ile-de-la-Reunion-France-PVP1
AW2-Eden-Resort-Ile-de-la-Reunion-France-General-V01-2014-09-6

avec Nicolas Grouard architecte.

Nous avons choisi de dessiner sous le signe de la découverte et de l’émotion, guidés par une compréhension fine du contexte. Dans l’esprit du Six Senses Con-Dao, le projet se pose en respectant la topographie, en étant économe dans l’utilisation du sol et en ménageant des vues sur la mer

CHEDI MALDIVES | Maldives

AW2-Chedi-Maldives-Dhaparoo-14-Water-Bungalow
AW2-Chedi-Maldives-Dhaparoo-2-Four-Bed-Villa-front
AW2-Chedi-Maldives-Dhaparoo-4-One-Bed-Villa-bathroom
AW2-Chedi-Maldives-Dhaparoo-5-One-Bed-Villa-bathroom

Dhaparu est une île du Nord des Maldives dans l’atoll Haa-Alifu, délicieusement distante de toute terre dans l’océan Indien. L’occasion nous était donnée de créer, avec GHM Hôtels & Resorts, une sorte de manifeste pour l’art de vivre aux Maldives, entre terre et eau, au milieu de la végétation tropicale.

CHEVAL BLANC AL KHAIRAN | Sultanat d'Oman

AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-View-01
AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-View-15
AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-view-16
AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-view-18
AW2-Cheval-Blanc-Al-Khairan-Sultanat-Oman-Hill-Standard-SHS-02

Ce projet joue avec un environnement aride et vallonné en développant un langage architectural propre : les simples volumes blancs assis sur des murs de pierre, le cadrage des vues par les portiques, le recours à l’eau et à la végétation luxuriante, le travail de la lumière grâce aux moucharabiehs.

LOGEMENTS OURCQ JAURÈS | France

AW2-Logements-Ourcq-Jaures-Paris-France-Perspective
AW2-Logements-Ourcq-Jaures-Paris-France-Pers-facade-detail-1
AW2-Logements-Ourcq-Jaures-Paris-France-Pers-facade-detail-2

Les lignes directrices du projet sont : un fort rapport à la rue avec une façade urbaine construite ; un déploiement visuel apporté par des jardins partagés ; une qualité d’ensoleillement en dégageant les limites séparatives, et enfin la performance environnementale, notamment grâce à un usage extensif de matériaux bio-sourcés.

SIFAH RESORT | Sultanat d'Oman

AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-CENTRAL-AREA
AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-JEBEL-SUITEgarden
AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-GALLERY-FINAL
AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-axo
AW2-Sifah-Resort-Sultanat-Oman-Central-area-elevation

Nous avons cherché à allier l’essence de l’architecture arabe à l’art de recevoir de Cheval Blanc. Le jeu subtil des volumes évoque les villages traditionnels d’Oman. Les « tours des vents » et le recours aux Moucharabieh réinventent l’art de construire dans le désert, en hommage aux arts de l’Islam.

ÎLOT SAUSSURE | France

AW2-Ilot-Saussure-Paris-France-Vue-01-Train-V03
AW2-Ilot-Saussure-Paris-France-Vue-02-Vitre
AW2-Ilot-Saussure-Paris-France-Axo-Eclatee

Le bâtiment est comme une figure de proue. Les façades se déroulent en continu ; lisses et brillantes, elles déclinent le verre dans des formes différentes suivant l’orientation et permettent de répondre aux contraintes des voies ferrées. Ceci leur apporte une richesse, avec une lecture simple et fluide du volume.

CHEDI TAMUDA BAY | Maroc

AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-RECEPTION
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-CLUBnight
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-CLUBSUITEnight
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-HOTELsuite
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-CLUBsuite
AW2-Chedi-Tamuda-Bay-Tanger-Maroc-RECEPTION-VUE

Le projet est situé à une heure de Tanger, face à la Méditerranée. Nous avons créé une architecture très contemporaine avec une forte influence du lieu, mettant en valeur le savoir-faire local en artisanat. L’eau est omniprésente : la mer, la rivière, les bassins contribuent à créer une atmosphère unique.

MUSÉE DU PROPHETE | Emirats Arabes Unis

AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-AXONOMETRIE
AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-facade
AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-lobby
AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-jardin
AW2-Musee-du-Prophete-Dubai-Emirats-Arabes-Unis-exhibition

Le musée du prophète est la métaphore d’un monde intérieur, un jardin où la nature est dans sa beauté originelle, un voyage parmi les mythes fondateurs de l’Islam. La ligne horizontale du toit évoque la sérénité et la paix, dans un contexte où la verticalité des tours est de mise.

NOMAD | Maroc

AW2-Nomad-Tafilalet-Maroc-01-2014-01-10
AW2-Nomad-Tafilalet-Maroc-03-2014-01-10
AW2-Nomad-Tafilalet-Maroc-02-2014-01-10

Nous avons été sollicités pour imaginer une clinique de l’œil et de la peau à Tafilalet au Maroc. Plutôt qu’une clinique « classique » nous avons conçu un objet architectural : Nomad. L’objet est utile aux populations quand il est en place et disparait sans laisser de traces lorsqu’il n’est plus nécessaire.

MUSÉE DES ARTS PREMIERS | France

AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-FAERDIG
AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-branly2
AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-eiffel
AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-branly-1
AW2-Musee-des-Arts-Premiers-Paris-France-branly-1

Le concours pour le musée des Arts Premiers réunit les collections d’ethnologie parisiennes. Le terrain est situé entre la voie rapide du quai Branly et la rue de l’Université. En réponse à cette dualité nous décomposons le programme en cubes identiques qui créent une riche trame urbaine entrecoupée de jardins.

JOHN STREET DEVELOPMENT | États Unis

AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-VIEW-02
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-VIEW-01
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-Closup-03
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-Closup-02
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-VIEW-03
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-Closup-01
AW2-John-Street-Development-Brooklyn-Etats-Unis-VIEW-04

Cet immeuble développé avec RAL Compagnies accompagne la réhabilitation des quais de Brooklyn. Le projet répond à son contexte avec une façade duelle : côté « New-York » sur East River, une composition vitrée qui joue avec l’eau ; côté « Brooklyn », un bardage d’aluminium plus urbain.

Crédits photos : Artefactory, AW², L’Autre Image, Play-Time, Tamas Fisher

Tous les projets

À voir aussi

Suivez-nous sur Instagram